Latest News

Nsw Ses Penrith Unit Celebrates 60 Years Of Service


The NSW Government congratulates the Penrith NSW SES volunteers who marked six incredible decades of service to their community during a special awards ceremony on the weekend.

Stuart Ayres MP, Member for Penrith, Tanya Davies MP, Member for Mulgoa, Penrith City Council Mayor, Ross Fowler and NSW SES Commissioner Mark Smethurst commended the four Long Service Award recipients as well as those who received certificates of appreciation.

“From humble beginnings, the Penrith Unit has grown to more than 80 members, all of whom are trained, equipped and ready to assist their local community in times of emergency and disaster,” Mr Ayres said.

“This area has one of the most significant flood threats in Australia and is often subject to severe storms, so it is reassuring for the community to know that we have these brave men and women in orange ready to help if the worst should happen.”

Tanya Davies said there’s little we can do to repay the incredible contribution of our SES volunteers, except to say how much we appreciate the work that they do, and to simply say a very big thank you.

Commissioner Smethurst said the volunteers had upped their training to ensure they were ready to help when required, while new recruits were injecting fresh ideas and providing additional capability to the unit.

“NSW SES has been working hard to get volunteers trained and in the field faster than ever before to meet the needs of a growing community, and to ensure they have the right tools, support and vehicles to get the job done,” Commissioner Smethurst said.

Commissioner Smethurst said the weekend’s ceremony provided an important opportunity to recognise volunteers for their achievements and valued service.

“Today’s medal recipients collectively represent decades of service in the community, which is a fantastic milestone,” Commissioner Smethurst said.

“I want to reassure each and every one of them that their dedication and commitment to the people of New South Wales does not go unnoticed.

“I personally commend each of them for their efforts, and ongoing service to their local community, and the agency as a whole.”

If you are interested in volunteering with the NSW SES, go to or call 1800 201 000 to learn more about the range of volunteering options available.




1st Clasp to NSW SES Long Service Medal

NSW SES 20 Year Long Service Award

§     John Vickers

NSW SES 10 Year Long Service Award

§     John Neville

NSW SES 5 Year Long Service Award

§     Chris Carter

§     Mathew Cartwright

Commissioner’s Commendation for Service

§     Kaela Archer

Commissioner’s Certificate of Appreciation

§     Kaela Archer

§     David Brown

§     Steve Durrant

§     Raymond Filby

§     Ian Hyde

§     Diana James

§     Dennis Kildey

§     Richard Lorraine

§     Robertus Looyschelder

§     John-Luc Miller

§     William Ross

§     John Vickers


More News

Stuart Ayres - Member for Penrith

Subscribe to
My Newsletter

Follow Stuart

Follow Stuart