Latest News

Entries Now Open for the 2015 Resilient Australia Awards and the Nsw Get Ready Community Award

Stuart Ayres MP, Member for Penrith is calling on local individuals, schools, communities and businesses to apply for the 2015 Resilient Australia Awards and NSW Get Ready Community Awards.

The awards, which opened Monday, is a great way to acknowledge the great work community groups, individuals, not-for-profits, volunteers and schools do in the Penrith electorate to strengthen community resilience.

This year, the NSW Government has introduced the Get Ready Community Award to recognise a local group which has helped their community prepare or recover from a natural disaster.

Stuart Ayres said that he would like to encourage members of the community to apply.

“The awards are about recognising the innovative practices and achievements that not only make our communities safer but also resilient enough to handle any emergency situation,” Stuart Ayres said.

David Elliott MP, Minister for Corrections, Emergency Services and Veterans Affairs said the Resilient Australia Awards provide an opportunity to showcase the outstanding work being done across NSW to strengthen communities after natural disasters.

“Every year, communities face devastating losses caused by disasters which can have significant physical, emotional and economic impacts, changing the lives of many people and causing millions of dollars in property and infrastructure damage,” Mr Elliott said.

The winners of the NSW event will be finalists in the national awards.

Entries for the Resilient Australia Award and the NSW Get Ready Community Award will be accepted until midnight 9 August 2015.

Further information about the awards and how to enter can be found at


More News

Stuart Ayres - Member for Penrith

Subscribe to
My Newsletter

Follow Stuart

Follow Stuart