Latest News

Aboriginal Artists IN Penrith Encouraged to Enter Parliament’s Aboriginal Art Prize


Stuart Ayres MP, Member for Penrith joined local Aboriginal artist, Adrian Shafer to encourage all local Aboriginal artists to get involved and submit an entry for the 2015 Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize.

“The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is a wonderful opportunity for artists to share their works with the wider community and to exhibit their ideas and creations in the very unique forum of Australia’s first and oldest Parliament,” said Stuart Ayres

Aboriginal artists born in or living in New South Wales have an opportunity to be in the running to win $40,000 with the 2015 Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize now open for entries until Friday 31 July 2015. The annual event is one of the largest art prizes currently on offer for Aboriginal artists in Australia, and is awarded by an independent panel of experts

Finalists will be exhibited at Parliament House throughout October, and will be toured in regional galleries in 2016. The winner will join the likes of Nicole Foreshew, Roy Kennedy, Esme Timbery, Danny Eastwood and Karla Dickens with their work becoming part of the permanent collection of the Parliament of NSW.

In addition to the main prize, entrants can also choose to be considered for the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design Aboriginal Arts Residency Award. For more information on eligibility criteria and for full terms and conditions of entry visit or contact Campbelltown Arts Centre on 02 4645 4100 or by email to [email protected]

The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is made possible by a partnership between the Parliament, Campbelltown City Council, Arts NSW and the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design. 


More News

Stuart Ayres - Member for Penrith

Subscribe to
My Newsletter

Follow Stuart

Follow Stuart